LTC/FID Disqualifiers

Disqualifications for Firearms Licensing

The following are crimes that, if convicted, will disqualify you for a License to Carry (LTC) and/or Misdemeanor Conviction Dis-qualifier for Firearms Identification (FID) Card. Under Massachusetts law, misdemeanors punishable by imprisonment for more than two years include, but not limited to, the following offenses:

Crimes Against a Person

  • Assault and Battery (c. 265, § 13A)
  • A and B on Ambulance Personnel (c. 265, § 13I)
  • A and B on Public Employee (c. 265, § 13D)
  • A and B/Property Damage to Intimidate (c. 265, § 39)
  • Assault (c. 265, § 13A)
  • Permitting Injury to a Child (c. 265, § 13J)
  • Resisting Arrest (c. 268, § 32B)

Crimes Against Property

  • Destruction Church/School Property (c. 266, § 127A)
  • Destruction Jail Property (c. 266, § 130)
  • False Statement to Insurer (c. 266, § 11B)
  • Larceny from Elder/Disabled Person (c. 266, § 30(5))
  • Receiving Stolen Property Under $250 (c. 266, § 60)
  • Shoplifting Over $100 (c. 266, § 30A)
  • Wanton Destruction Property Over $250 (c. 266, § 127)

Motor Vehicle Offenses

  • Homicide by Vessel While Operating Under the Influence (OUI) and Operating to Endanger (OTE) (c. 90B, § 8B(2))
  • Motor Vehicle Homicide While OUI and OTE (c. 90, § 24G(b))
  • Operating after Suspension for OUI/MVH, etc. (c. 90, § 23)
  • OUI (c. 90, § 24(1)) – After May 1994
  • OUI on a Vessel (c. 90B, § 8(a))
  • OUI on a Vessel With Serious Bodily Injury (c. 90B, § 8A(1))
  • OUI With Serious Bodily Injury (c. 90, § 24L(2))

In order to be eligible to receive a new or to renew a LTC, an applicant must be deemed by the Chief of Police to be a suitable person.  The Chief of police considers factors such as the applicant’s reputation in the community, his/her involvement in criminal activities that did not lead to an arrest or conviction, association with known criminals, etc.  In addition, the following statutory restrictions affect an applicant’s suitability.

  • Applicant is committed to an institution for mental illness
  • Applicant is being treated or confined for drug addiction or habitual drunkenness
  • Applicant is under age 21
  • Applicant is an alien of the United States
  • Applicant is subject to any Chapter 209A protective order in Massachusetts or similar domestic violence stay-away order in another state
  • Applicant is subject to an outstanding arrest warrant
  • Applicant was convicted of a misdemeanor offense punishable by imprisonment for more than two years
  • With respect to an FID permit only, a person who has been convicted of such offense may apply for an FID if five years have passed since such conviction and/or probation period, whichever occurred last.
  • Applicant was convicted of a violent crime
  • Applicant was convicted of a felony
  • Applicant was convicted or adjudicated as a youthful offender anywhere for:
    • Commission of a felony or misdemeanor with a sentence greater than two years
    • Commission of a violent crime
    • Violation of any firearms law punishable by imprisonment
    • Violation of any narcotics law

Pursuant to Chapter 140 section 129B of the Massachusetts General Laws, the Chief of Police may not deny an applicant’s request for a FID Card unless he/she is subject to one of the statutory disqualifications listed above.